We are dedicated to providing a safe, informative, and interactive environment that assists you in obtaining your License To Carry (LTC). Our professional cadre of LTC Instructors have decades of firearms training and experience acquired from civilian, military, local, state, and federal law enforcement entities. We are ready to impart that knowledge and experience to you during your LTC training course. Our consummate professionals will provide a training environment conducive to a positive learning experience for you.
The instruction portion of this course is designed for a minimum of 5 hours.
Instruction will include the four required topics:
- Use of Force
- Handgun Use and Safety
- Non-Violent Dispute Resolution
- Proper Storage Procedures for Handguns
Upon completion of the instruction, you must pass a written examination with a score of at least 70%. Rest assured, all information will be covered and clarified prior to the administration of the written examination.
Upon successful completion of the written examination, you must demonstrate proficiency with a semi-automatic handgun or a revolver and achieve a passing score of 70% (175). The proficiency demonstration can take an additional 1 – 2 hours contingent upon your current level of proficiency with your handgun/revolver. This time period is in addition to and separate from the instruction portion of the course.
The proficiency demonstration requires that fifty rounds be fired from a handgun/revolver of at least .22 caliber or greater. Twenty (20) rounds will be fired at the three (3) yard line, twenty (20) rounds at the seven (7) yard line, and ten (10) rounds at the fifteen (15) yard line. The B-27 target will be utilized for the proficiency demonstration.
LTC Course Schedule
LTC courses are routinely scheduled for Saturdays, but special requests can be accommodated during the week at specifically arranged times.
Registration & Cost
Review our calendar of scheduled events, register for your course with us, and then pay the applicable fee.
This fee covers the LTC course and use of the range for your proficiency demonstration.
License To Carry Requirements
- Must have established legal residence in the state of Texas for the preceding six months (Resident License Only) or must be eligible for a license as a non-resident under Section 411.173(a).
- Must be at least 21 years of age; or must be 18 to 20 years of age and eligible under Section 411.172(g) (Military Exception).
- Must not have not been convicted of a felony (As ‘convicted’ is defined in Section 411.171(4).
- Must not be currently charged in any jurisdiction with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent level offense, or an offense under Section 42.01 (Disorderly Conduct), Texas Penal Code, or of a felony under an information or indictment.
- Must not be a fugitive from justice for a felony or Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense in any jurisdiction.
- Must not be chemically dependent (As defined in Section 411.171(2).
- Must not be incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun.
- Must not have not been convicted in any jurisdiction of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or an offense under Section 42.01 (Disorderly Conduct), Texas Penal Code (as ‘convicted’ is defined in Section 411.171(4), in the past five years.
- Must be fully qualified under applicable federal and state laws to purchase a handgun. (Refer to 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)).
- Must not have been finally determined to be delinquent in making child support payments administered or collected by the attorney general.
- Must not have been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of taxes or other money collected by the comptroller, state treasurer, or tax collector of any agency or political subdivision of this state (or state of residence for non-resident applicants).
- Must not be currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, not including a restraining order affecting property.
- Must not have in the past 10 years been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony.
- Must not have not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, on your application.
Please feel free to download and review the Texas Concealed Handgun Laws and Selected Statutes Handbook available at http://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/LTC-16.pdf.
For further information regarding licensing specifics please refer to the Department of Public Safety, License To Carry site at http://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/ltc/index.htm.
Applying for your LTC
- The standard fee for a Texas Handgun License is now $40.00 and applies to individuals who do not qualify for any other discounts. Refer to the Texas License To Carry (LTC) Fee Table (http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/documents/LTCFeeSchedule.pdf) to determine if you qualify for a discount.
- Register online for a new License To Carry utilizing the Texas.gov website at (https://texas.gov/). The following items are needed to complete the online process:
- Valid TX driver’s license or identification card
- Current demographic, address, contact, and employment information
- Residential and employment information for the last five years (new users only)
- Information regarding any psychiatric, drug, alcohol, or criminal history (new users only)
- Valid email address, and
- Valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express).
- ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE
- As part of the license To Carry registration process you will be prompted to register to be fingerprinted by IdentoGo (https://www.identogo.com/locations/texas), which is operated by MorphoTrust USA. [Note: You must submit your online application to DPS and have it accepted prior to being fingerprinted by IdentoGo.]
- Upon successful completion of the instruction course (Passing grade: 70%) and the proficiency demonstration (Passing grade: 70%) your LTC Instructor will provide you with two copies of the Form CHL-100, which you will sign. One of the forms will be submitted with the supplementary forms identified on the DPS checklist that was provided at the end of your online application submission. The remaining CHL-100 will be retained by your CHL Instructor.
- If you require assistance, your LTC Instructor can review your complete packet prior to submission to DPS. Submit your packet to DPS via US mail, and do not use “Signature Requested” because that will significantly delay the processing of your LTC application.
- Routine processing for the LTC is approximately 60 days. Upon receipt of your LTC, please review it to verify that the information is correct. To modify, correct, add additional information, or to replace a lost or destroyed LTC, contact the Regulatory Services Division at (512) 424-7293 or via email at https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/contact/default.aspx.
Students must provide the following equipment for use during the proficiency demonstration:
- A semi-automatic pistol or a revolver:
- Must be at least a .22 caliber
- Must be in good working condition
- All handguns will be inspected by your LTC Instructor prior to and during usage at the range
- No optical sights are allowed
- No handgun may have any modification which compromises the safety of the weapon
- If using a non-semi-automatic handgun (revolver) – no “push off” on single action
- Reloaded ammunition is not allowed
- Must meet Sporting Arms and Ammunition Manufacturers’ Institute (SAAMI) specifications
- Must have a minimum of 50 rounds for your handgun (Extra is recommended)
- No aluminum casing
- Protective clothing and equipment
- Ear protection (over-the-ear, muff style) and eye protection (prescription eyewear) is acceptable
- Shirt with a collar and head cover (baseball cap to cover the head and facial area)
- Closed-toe shoes, such as boots or athletic shoes and long pants (no shorts or Capri style)
- One hand towel to lay your weapon and ammunition on during inspection and prior to proficiency demonstration
- Instructions on handling your handgun/revolver at the proficiency demonstration will be provided during the instructional training.
- Holsters may be used during the proficiency demonstration, but will be inspected prior to use by your LTC Instructor for fit and suitability.
- Prior to use at the range, all handguns/revolvers must be stored in a closed carrying case/bag.
- All handguns/revolvers must be unloaded and ammunition stored in a separate container.
- No time will be allotted for practice or to zero your handgun/revolver during the proficiency demonstration.
- Students must abide by all range safety rules. Failure to comply with safety rules will result in immediate removal from the range and result in course failure.
- No family members, guests, pets, photography or videotaping will be allowed during the instruction portion or at the proficiency demonstration at the range.
For any unanswered questions concerning obtaining your LTC, please access the DPS Frequently Asked Questions page at http://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/faqs/index.htm.
For additional information regarding our services or registering for the LTC training course, please feel free to contact us at via phone at (469) 608-0431 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
We look forward to hearing from you and being able to provide you with an elite experience in obtaining your LTC.